Gold at last

I’m not much of a sports fan but when it comes to the Olympics I am a hardcore viewer of everything sport.  I don’t love curling or figure skating but I’ll watch them, I’ll watch any sporting event if it’s the Olympics.  Last night while drinking the 3rd bottle of champagne of the weekend, T and I watched while Alexandre Bilodeau won Gold.  This guy will go down in the history books for finally breaking the hometown curse Canada has had.  Congratulations to him and his family – I was crying while watching his and his family’s reaction.  It was so touching.

I’m also kind of bad at heckling a “non-Canadian” when they fall, make an error or just don’t do well.  I don’t want anyone to get hurt but I’m certainly glad when a Canadian does a better job in their event.

One thing to note in the Freestyle event, Canadians were actually 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th.  The robot Dale Begg-Smith is actually Canadian.  It’s sad that we as a country don’t do enough to promote amateur sport.  Yes, this Olympics we have done much more than ever before, we are paying for results, we are paying our athletes, we are supporting them in so many ways, but some of our hometown athletes are going where the money is, maybe we should take note!

Go Canada Go.  I can’t wait until February 27th so I can cheer on hometown snowboarder Matthew Morison!  Go Matty Go!

www.vancouver2010.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

