Back to the Grind

So today is my first day of work since January 31, 2009.  It feels strange, it feels the same, it feels weird and out of the ordinary.  Most of all it feels great to be here.   It’s amazing how many times I’ve been asked if I’m okay, if I’m dealing with being away from the Beans.  My answer without hesitation is yes, I’m fine, no tears, no breakdowns, nothing.  Yes it’s still early in the day but I don’t think I’m the type of person that can’t leave the Beans with other people.  Me leaving everyday to come to work is going to make me a better mother and hopefully a happier mother.

I still can’t believe that I’ve been away from work for over a year, the Beans are almost 13 months old.

What I’ve missed most about work is the adult interaction, the in-house movie and book reviews, the jokes, the laughter and teasing and general fun I’ve had in this office since I started working here. 

As I’m now halfway through the day I can say I’m ok but it doesn’t mean I wouldn’t rather be outside playing with the Beans right now.

2 Comments

Filed under Me

2 responses to “Back to the Grind

  1. I can say without hesitation and guilt that I am a better mother to my children when I have time away from them. I appreciate them more. I enjoy my time with them more. And the time I do have is quality.

    Sounds like you’re doing great! Enjoy this new chapter in your life as a transitioning parent.

  2. Yay working mom! Sounds like you have a great group of workmates to return to — that makes all the difference. Hope the rest of the week goes well!

Leave a Reply

