Come Together

T and I had our date night on Saturday.  The Beans cooperated for the sitter and didn’t stay awake or wake up shrieking and scare her away.  A big topic of conversation at dinner, besides being pleasantly surprised at finding a really good restaurant where we live (delicious food, great service, nice ambience and a great view), was about US.

US has to be capitalized, because US has been suffering lately.  Since the Beans were born T and I have gone on 2 date nights and went out to a friend’s birthday party once.  So in almost 14 months, T and I have enjoyed a nice night out only 3 times.  We each have gone out with friends but actually organizing a night out together hasn’t happened I don’t know why.  Yes, there are logistical issues now that we have kids, it’s not just saying on Friday night that we’re going to go out on Saturday and our biggest decision was where we were going to eat.  Now we have to organize things sometimes weeks in advance, secure childcare etc.  It’s no longer carefree so our “US” time is no longer carefree.

Everything takes more effort now, but why have I not been putting the effort into US.  I can only speak for myself because I don’t want to put words in T’s mouth but I know I haven’t put in the effort that I should have, I haven’t put in the effort that I did years ago.  I can now see how families get into a rut, they become complacent, years go by, the children leave and then they look at each other and wonder who the other person is.  They haven’t invested the time in their spouse, they KNEW each other but they don’t KNOW each other now.

I’ve decided and I’m sure T agrees, I don’t want to just live with someone, I don’t want to be a roommate with T.  I want the passion, excitement, laughter and joy to return to our house.  I have to get to work on that now, before it’s too late.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Fights, Me, Sex, T, The Abyss, who am I

3 responses to “Come Together

  1. The first step to any problem is always recognizing it. You are miles ahead of most people. If you both want things to work, and both put the effort in, it will.

    Congrats on a great night!

  2. claudia

    perfectly written..
    i totally agree.. unfortunately it happens to i’m sure everyone who has kids… 😦
    i’m so glad you guys had a great date night! 🙂

  3. chris

    date night is so important! seriously though-plan a long weekend in vegas together- stay at the hotel at mandelay bay and u two will really “reconnect” if you will 🙂

Leave a Reply

