24 Hours

  • 5:30 am – BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, I wish that bloody truck would just find its damn parking spot.  Oh wait, it’s my alarm, ugh.
  • 6:20 in my car flipping the radio stations incessantly, why does morning radio have to be so awful?  And why have I not put cd’s in the car yet, I’m torturing myself
  • 6:47 why do strange people always have to sit beside me on the train, do I have a beacon above my head, calling all the weirdos to my attention
  • 7:40 at the office, trying to enjoy my coffee but it’s not working, someone has the tv volume so loud I can’t hear myself think, it’s only some idiot yammering on about the financial crisis in Europe, I don’t care about that before 8 am, I’m sorry
  • Work
  • Work
  • Eat
  • Work
  • Work
  • Snack
  • 3:50 – the race is on.  I’m speedwalking the streets of Toronto, dodging people who don’t follow the rules of the sidewalk and I seriously just want to lower my centre of gravity and take them all out like I’m the bowling ball, they’re the pins and I just bowled a strike!  I say FOFF to all of these people.  All of this so I don’t miss my train, all of this so that I can get home in time for the Beans
  • 5:00 – now I’m racing to get to my car, I spend $70 a month for a reserved spot but as with everything else in our ridiculous society, people can now park closer than me and not pay a dime.
  • 5:10 – after having to teach other drivers the concept of taking turns I am now finally out of the parking lot and on my way home.
  • 5:17 – I’m home.  I’m getting the 10 minute recap from the Nanny, hugging the Beans, dodging their snotty noses and messy fingers so that I don’t have to wash my “nice” clothes, I need to get into my yoga pants pronto
  • 5:30 – Bottles for babies and then we play for exactly 15 minutes
  • 6:00 – Dinner for babies – they are still eating better than I am, appetizer, dinner and dessert.
  • 6:30 – Bath time! This is my favourite time ~ all kinds of silliness happens in the bath, water is thrown everywhere, splashing around, kisses and raspberries.
  • 7:00 – BEDTIME, for them, not for me but some days I wish someone told me to go to bed at 7
  • 7:05 – Ok, what am I going to make for dinner?  And who destroyed my kitchen?  There are pieces of meatball, strawberries and Cheerios everywhere!
  • 7:10 – I’d really like a glass of wine right now but T and I decided we’re not going to drink through the week, shit, can’t it be Friday?
  • 8:00 – T is home now, we’re going to eat the dinner I threw together and watch some brain rotting television.
  • 9:00 – Dishes
  • 10:00 – I really need to get to bed, 5:30 comes early.

That is a good summary of what a typical day looks like for me now that I’m back to work.  I’m not complaining BUT there really isn’t enough time in the day.

7 Comments

Filed under Family

7 responses to “24 Hours

  1. I am more tired now. Sheesh that’s INSANITY! You need a job closer to home…

  2. I am genuinely curious: is this the sort of life you want for yourself? 5 days out of 7 of this? It seems so difficult and not very rewarding.

    • Pinto Bean Mom

      BUT there is reward in what I do. I enjoy what I do, I enjoy going to work and I like that my kids are exposed to other experiences and enjoy other people. I know my choice is not everyone’s choice and that some people would love to stay home but are financially unable to. Do I wish there were more hours in the day – absolutely, but if I stayed home with my kids all day I would be wishing the same thing as well, I know, because I wished for more hours everyday of my 14 month maternity leave.

  3. TO Bias

    Move to the city! Sleep two extra hours a day and/or have two extra hours with the kids!

  4. chris

    On a positive note,it’s so great that you are able to get home so early to see the beans! The part I hate the most about working way downtown and commuting is my restricted time with my little angel Em ;((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((CB

Leave a Reply

